Laura Ann the Intern: A reflection

As with all good things, my internship at The LLF has come to an end. These past three months have gone by quickly and I don’t know where the time has gone. I would like to use this weeks’ blog as an opportunity to reflect on my experience with The LLF and share with you the many things I have learned throughout my stay.

While interning with The LLF, I was exposed to how an organization functions both internally and externally. I began my internship learning about the many different departments within the organization and how each one works with each other to help support and facilitate organ, eye and tissue donation. I felt very comfortable in this work environment because of the open-door policy shared by all members of the staff. I was immediately welcomed and treated as a team member and for this I was very thankful.

I particularly enjoyed participating in community outreach events where I was able to visit schools and talk with students about the importance of our cause. After observing many presentations by fellow co-workers, I was able to lead discussions toward the middle of my internship. I really enjoyed this because I was able to interact with students, get the students involved and keep them entertained, all while learning myself. It was a great experience and I feel it has helped me grow as a person when preparing for future presentations.  

I feel this internship was a great first experience out in the “real” world. I learned a great deal about non-profit organizations, how they operate and how hard everyone works for the purpose of the organization. I was exposed to a variety of tasks that I feel were helpful in making me a better future employee and I have developed great confidence with working as part of a team. This truly gave me the confidence I will need when finding my career path at the end of the school year.

Once I leave The LLF, I will continue to follow up on the progress of the organization by following them on Facebook, Twitter, and reading this blog. I know  I will be more likely to recognize any future mentions about organ, eye and tissue donation in regular conversation and I will continue to educate others about the importance of organ, eye and tissue donation should the opportunity arise.

This entry was posted in Community Education, LLF Staff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Laura Ann the Intern: A reflection

  1. Cathy Shry says:

    Laurea Ann … You did a great job with this blog. Good luck on your future!

Leave a Reply

