Resolutions for the New Year

Resolve: to come to a definite or earnest decision about; determine (to do something).

When I was younger, every December 31, I’d write down three resolutions in my journal. They varied from year to year, and looking back on them they seem a bit frivolous.  As I’ve gotten older, I’m not sure that has changed.  Many of my resolutions have to do with self image, losing weight, getting more exercise, eating better. And often times these resolutions are abandoned by February.

This year, I’m thinking beyond myself when I set my New Year’s resolutions. In 2010, I’m going to resolve to be a better person and to give more.  I know what you are thinking. This is a very broad resolution. I agree, but history has taught me that too specific of a resolution, often leads to failure.

So how am I going achieve this resolution?  I’m going to look for opportunities for me and my family to get more involved in my community. It might be by helping out at the food pantry or participating in one of the many community activities sponsored by my local Jewish Community Center or Jewish Volunteer Services.  I’d like to get my daughter involved in giving back and helping others too. At 12 months old, she might not understand what is going on, but I think it is important that these values are instilled in her early and we work together as a family.

Now, I’m challenging you. Before you set those resolutions in stone, take a good look at them. I know we all want to lose those last 10 lbs, however, I encourage you take a look at how you can help others. It doesn’t need to be a major commitment. It could be as easy as resolving to find out more about organ, eye and tissue donation or finally logging-on to the Maryland Donor Registry at http://www.donatelifemaryland.org and designating yourself as a donor. Just a few extra minutes while you are obtaining or renewing your Maryland driver’s license or state ID by checking “yes” to donation can help save the lives of more than eight people and enhance the lives of more than 50 with tissue donation. 

Your resolution doesn’t have to stop there. If you have already designated yourself as an organ, eye and tissue donor, volunteer your time to help educate others about the importance of this life-saving cause.  The Living Legacy Foundation of Maryland is always looking for energetic volunteers and has many different opportunities for people to get involved in spreading the word about donation and transplantation. Email Latrice Price at lprice@thellf.org for more information about volunteer opportunities.

Leave a comment with your resolutions for 2010.

Have a healthy and happy New Year!

–Jennifer

About Jennifer

Jennifer Gelman is the director of Communications for the Living Legacy Foundation of Maryland. She is responsible for creating and executing educational and awareness programs for LLF’s donor service area, along with overseeing the company’s volunteer program, and the relationship with Maryland’s Motor Vehicle Administration. With nearly ten years of experience in non-profit and cause-related marketing, on a national and local level, Jennifer is focused on raising awareness and creating an open dialogue about organ, eye and tissue donation throughout diverse communities the organization serves. Follow Jennifer on Twitter: http://twitter.com/jennifergelman
This entry was posted in Community Outreach, Donate Life Maryland. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

